الشراكه

فنون وموسيقى ورقص ومسرح

  • معهد الرقص الوطني

  • الموسيقى والدماغ

  • قاعة الرقص الأمريكية

  • لاعبو دافنشي

  • PS 189M جوقة

  • نقابة أوبرا متروبوليتان

العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

  • بدء العلوم

  • ليغو الروبوتات

  • Codemonkey

  • الشطرنج في المدرسة

  • تكنولوجيا المدينة

التربية البدنية والرياضة والعيش الصحي

  • الرياضة والصحة في المدينة

  • السباحة من أجل الحياة

  • CHALK (اختيار أنماط حياة صحية ونشطة للأطفال)

  • الفصول الدراسية CAMs

  • الانتقال إلى التحسين

التواصل مع المجتمع

  • بيني هارفست

  • بنسات للمرضى

  • تعلم القادة

  • مستشفى مورغان ستانلي للأطفال في كولومبيا المشيخية / الصحة العقلية القائمة على المدرسة

الموسيقى والدماغ (MATB) في PS189M

  • MATB هو منهج متسلسل متعدد السنوات تم تصميمه وتطويره بواسطة صندوق 42nd Street والذي يوضح الصلة بين التدريس الموسيقي المبكر والقدرة المعرفية. تشمل أهداف MATB استخدام محو الأمية الموسيقية ومخزن البيانو لتطوير التفكير النقدي والمهارات الحركية الدقيقة والتركيز.

  • فلسفة مات
    يعمل التعليم الموسيقي الدقيق على تحسين مهارات التفكير المكاني والزماني للأطفال الصغار مما يؤدي إلى تحسين المهارات الرياضية والتعرف على الأنماط والتفكير المجرد. يحسن تعليم الموسيقى أيضًا مهارات القراءة والكتابة مما يؤدي إلى اكتساب اللغة والقراءة والكلام بشكل أفضل. وأخيرًا ، يحسن التعليم الموسيقي مهارات الانتباه والاستماع ، ومهارات حل المشكلات ، والتفكير النقدي ، والتواصل الاجتماعي ، ويعزز الإبداع والتعبير عن الذات واحترام الذات.

البوصلة بعد برنامج المدرسة (AKA OST)

  • توفر Inwood Community Services الفرصة لـ 210 طالبًا في صفوف الروضة حتى الخامسة للمشاركة في البوصلة بعد المدرسة والبرامج الصيفية. يسمح البرنامج للطلاب بالانخراط في مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة الأكاديمية والترفيهية والإثرائية والثقافية لدعم وتعزيز تطورهم الشامل. يدمج برنامج ما بعد المدرسة محو الأمية في جميع التعليمات ؛ يقدم المساعدة في الواجبات المنزلية ، والتعليم الأساسي للفنون والنشاط البدني ، بما في ذلك البرمجة الغذائية لتعزيز الحياة الصحية.

  • للتواصل مع مدير البرنامج إدوارد ريغو ، يرجى مراسلتنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني أو الاتصال بنا في أي وقت.

قاعة رقص

  • يوفر برنامج الرقص الفصول الدراسية لجميع طلاب الصف الخامس فرصة لتنمية المهارات الحياتية الأساسية من خلال فن الرقص الاجتماعي. يسمح لهم نشاط الإثراء هذا بتنمية تقدير الذات الإيجابي وتعلم مهارات العمل الجماعي.

معهد الرقص الوطني (NDI)

  • يشرك المعهد الوطني للرقص طلاب الصف الأول والرابع في البرامج التي يعمل فيها الطلاب معًا وتطوير معايير شخصية للتميز ، وفخر بالإنجاز والفضول حول العالم.

سباحة

  • تزود سويم فور لايف طلاب الصف الثاني بتعليم سلامة المياه بالإضافة إلى فرصة للترفيه واللياقة البدنية والتواصل الاجتماعي خارج البيئة المدرسية.

شارع 92 الثاني ص

  • من خلال تعاوننا مع 92nd Street Y ، يستكشف الطلاب في الصف الثالث الأنواع الموسيقية ، ويشاركوا في صناعة الموسيقى ويتعرفون على التقاليد الموسيقية الغنية في الصف ومن خلال سلسلة من العروض.

الشطرنج في المدارس

  • تعزز الشطرنج في المدارس التطور الفكري والاجتماعي لطلابنا من خلال تعليم الشطرنج. حتى الآن ، علمت لعبة الشطرنج في المدارس مئات الآلاف من الطلاب ذوي الدخل المنخفض في مدارس مدينة نيويورك ، مما ألهمهم لتحقيق إنجاز أكبر. في PS189 ، نستخدم الشطرنج لتعليم المهارات الاجتماعية والتفكير النقدي وحل المشكلات والانضباط العقلي اللازم للنجاح في المدرسة وفي الحياة.

  • يعلم البرنامج طلابنا في الصف الثالث لعبة الشطرنج المعقدة ، مما يوفر لهم الفرصة للتعاون مع أقرانهم وتطوير التفكير النقدي وحل المشكلات ومهارات اتخاذ القرار.

برامج مثيرة أخرى

  • تشارك فصول الصف الرابع في برنامج Project Start Science الذي يقدمه طلاب جامعة يشيفا. يثري البرنامج تعليم العلوم ، ويتيح للطلاب فرصة إجراء تجارب علمية عملية تتماشى مع نطاق مدينة نيويورك وتسلسلها.

  • تمتد شراكتنا مع جامعة يشيفا إلى ما وراء العلم لتشمل التدريس الجماعي للمجموعات الصغيرة. يتلقى الطلاب الذين يكافحون في الرياضيات هذا الدعم على مدار العام. يتم تحديد التركيز التعليمي من قبل معلمي الفصل الدراسي بناءً على أداء الطالب الحالي.

  • لتوسيع فرص التعلم للطلاب الذين تواجه أسرهم عوائق لغوية وتحديات محو الأمية ، نحن في شراكة مع طلاب المدارس الثانوية المحلية لتنفيذ برنامج ، "المراهقون المشاركون في التعليم" (TIE) ، حيث يعمل طلاب المدرسة الثانوية مع طلابنا لتقديم المساعدة في التدريس / الواجبات المنزلية .

  • بالنسبة لـ SY 2018-2019 ، سنتعاون مع مستشفى المشيخية في نيويورك ونشارك في اختيار أنماط حياة صحية ونشطة للأطفال (CHALK). سوف تدعمنا CHALK في تنفيذ برنامج أنماط حياة صحية للطلاب والموظفين والأسر في PS 189. والهدف من البرنامج هو الوقاية من السمنة من خلال التعليم والتغيير البيئي وربط المدارس بالموارد.

  • يعمل برنامج Turn 2 Us بمستشفى المشيخية بنيويورك الممول من مؤسسة Derek Jeter 'Turn 2 Foundation، Inc. على إشراك مجموعة من طلاب الصف الرابع والخامس ويحفزهم على التفوق في عملهم المدرسي وعلاقاتهم مع أقرانهم. يدعم هذا البرنامج التطور الاجتماعي العاطفي الإيجابي لطلابنا ويحدد توقعات عالية للتقدم الأكاديمي للطلاب. تم تصميم الأنشطة لتعليم الطلاب قيمة العمل الجماعي وتطوير قدرتهم على التعبير عن أنفسهم بطريقة صحية. مثل هذه الأنشطة التي يرعاها برنامج Turn 2 Us هي فرق كرة السلة والبيسبول المشتركة في PS 189.

  • توفر Fraternidad de Los Angeles برامج تعليم الكبار لمجتمع مدرستنا. يشارك الآباء في التدريب على مهارات الأبوة ، وأنشطة الآباء / الأطفال ، ودروس السبت في الطبخ والرقص واليوغا والباليه والرياضة وغيرها بناءً على ملاحظات الوالدين واحتياجاتهم.

  • يساعدنا بنك الوقت في زيادة تكامل مجتمعنا مع المجتمعات الأخرى في مدينة نيويورك. تتيح هذه الشراكة لوالدينا مشاركة المهارات المهنية والشخصية مع المجتمعات الأخرى التي تحتاج إلى المساعدة في هذه المجالات. يتم تخصيص الوقت الذي يتم التبرع به ثم يتم طلبه في مناطق محددة حسب الحاجة من قبل المدرسة والمجتمع.

  • تدعمنا شركة Literacy Inc. (LINC) في بناء شراكات قوية بين عائلاتنا والمعلمين والمجتمع. يرعون الأحداث المدرسية على نطاق واسع مثل: ليالي عائلية أكاديمية ، وتدريب أولياء الأمور لكبار الشخصيات ، وأنشطة قراءة TIGER ، وقراءة الأصدقاء والمسابقات ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر.

  • يمثل التزامنا بالرفاهية الاجتماعية والعاطفية لطلابنا ، الذين يواجه الكثير منهم تحديات رهيبة في الحياة ، أولوية. يتلقى الطلاب وأسرهم خدمات الصحة العقلية الأساسية في المدرسة من خلال شراكتنا مع مستشفى كولومبيا المشيخي مورغان ستانلي للأطفال. يوفر هذا البرنامج أخصائيًا نفسيًا في الموقع بدوام كامل يقدم خدمات أساسية وحاسمة مباشرةً لطلابنا وأسرهم. يتم تقديم سلسلة من ورش عمل الأبوة والأمومة لإشراك الآباء في الموضوعات ذات الصلة والمهمة.

Partnerships

ARTS, MUSIC, DANCE AND THEATER

  • National Dance Institute

  • Music and the Brain

  • American Ballroom Dancing

  • Da Vinci Players

  • PS 189M Chorus

  • Metropolitan Opera Guild

SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING AND MATH

  • START Science

  • Lego Robotics

  • Codemonkey

  • Chess in the School

  • City Technology

PHYSICAL EDUCATION, SPORTS AND HEALTHY LIVING

  • Sports & Health in the City

  • Swim for Life

  • CHALK (Choosing Healthy & Active Lifestyles for Kids)

  • CAMs Classroom

  • Move to Improve

COMMUNITY OUTREACH

  • Penny Harvest

  • Pennies for Patients

  • Learning Leaders

  • Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital at Columbia Presbyterian/School Based Mental Health

MUSIC AND THE BRAIN (MATB) AT PS189M

  • MATB is a sequential, multi-year curriculum conceived and developed by the 42nd Street Fund that demonstrates the link between early musical instruction and cognitive ability. MATB goals include using music literacy and piano repertoire to develop critical thinking, fine motor skills and focus.

  • MATB PHILOSOPHY
    A rigorous music education improves spatial-temporal reasoning skills of young children resulting in improved mathematical skills, pattern recognition and abstract reasoning. Music education also improves literacy skills resulting in better language acquisition, reading and speech. Finally, music education improves attention and listening skills, problem solving skills, critical thinking, socialization, and enhances creativity, self-expression and self-esteem.

COMPASS AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM (AKA OST)

  • Inwood Community Services provides opportunity for 210 students in grades Kindergarten through fifth to participate in the COMPASS after school and summer programs. The program allows students to engage in a variety of academic, recreational, enrichment and cultural activities to support and strengthen their overall development. The after school program integrates literacy into all instruction; offers homework help, basic arts instruction and physical activity, including nutritional programming to promote healthy living.

  • ​To contact our Program Director Edward Rigaud, email or call us at any time.

BALLROOM

  • The Dancing Classrooms program provides all our fifth-grade students an opportunity to cultivate essential life skills through the art of social dance. This enrichment activity allows them to develop positive self esteem and learn teamwork skills.

NATIONAL DANCE INSTITUTE (NDI)

  • National Dance Institute engages our first & fourth grade students in programs where students work together and develop personal standards of excellence, a pride of achievement and a curiosity about the world.

SWIMMING

  • Swim for Life provides our second grade students with water safety education as well as an opportunity for recreation, fitness and socialization outside of the school environment.

92ND STREET Y

  • Through our collaboration with the 92nd Street Y, students in third grade explore musical genres, engage in music making and learn about rich musical traditions in class and through a series of performances.

CHESS-IN-THE-SCHOOLS

  • Chess-in-the-Schools fosters the intellectual and social development of our students through chess education. To date, Chess in the Schools has taught hundreds of thousands of low-income students in New York City schools, inspiring them to greater achievement. At PS189, we use chess to teach social skills, critical thinking, problem solving, and the mental discipline needed to succeed in school and in life.

  • The program teaches our third grade students the complex game of chess, providing them with the opportunity to collaborate with peers and develop critical thinking, problem solving and decision-making skills.

OTHER EXCITING PROGRAMS

  • Fourth grade classes participate in the Project Start Science program provided by Yeshiva University students. The program enriches science instruction, providing students with the opportunity to conduct hands-on science experiments aligned to the New York City Scope and Sequence.

  • Our partnership with Yeshiva University extends beyond science to include small group tutoring. Students who are struggling in mathematics receive this support throughout the year. Instructional focus is determined by the classroom teachers based on current student performance.

  • To expand learning opportunities for students whose families face language barriers and literacy challenges, we are partnering with local high school students to implement a program, Teens Involved in Education (TIE), where high school students work with our students to provide tutoring/homework assistance.

  • For the SY 2018-2019 we will partner with New York Presbyterian Hospital and participate in, Choosing Healthy & Active Lifestyles for Kids (CHALK). CHALK will support us to implement a healthy lifestyles program for the students, staff and families at PS 189. The goal of the program is obesity prevention through education, environmental change, and connecting schools with resources.

  • The New York Presbyterian Hospital's Turn 2 Us program funded by Derek Jeter ‘Turn 2 Foundation, Inc. engages a group of our fourth & fifth grade students and motivates them to excel in their school work and relationship with peers. This program supports our students’ positive social-emotional development and sets high expectations for individual student academic progress. The activities are designed to teach students the value of teamwork and develop their ability to express themselves in a healthy fashion. Such activities sponsored by the Turn 2 Us program are the PS 189 co-ed basketball and baseball teams.

  • Fraternidad de Los Angeles provides adult learning programs to our school community. Parents participate in Parenting Skills training, Parent/Child activities, Saturday classes in cooking, dance, yoga, ballet, sports and others based on parent feedback and needs.

  • Time Bank, aides us in further integrating our community with other communities in New York City. This partnership allows our parents to share professional and personal skills with other communities who have a need for assistance in these areas. The time donated is banked and then requested in specific areas as needed by the school and community.

  • Literacy Inc. (LINC) supports us in building strong partnerships between our families, educators and community. They sponsor school wide events such as; Academic Family Nights, VIP Parent trainings, T.I.G.E.R. reading activities, Reading Buddies and contests, to name a few.

  • Our commitment to the social-emotional well-being of our students, many of whom face daunting life challenges, is a priority. Students and their families receive essential School-Based Mental Health services through our partnership with Columbia Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital. This program provides a full-time on-site Psychologist who provides essential and critical services directly to our students and their families. A series of Parenting Workshops are offered to engage parents in relevant and important topics.

Magnet School of Inquiry and Expression

GET IN TOUCH

2580 Amsterdam Ave

New York, NY, 10040
212-927-8303
experienceequalssuccess@ps189m.net

PS189M is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience, regardless of circumstance and ability. We aim to adhere as closely as possible to the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0, Level AA), published by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). These guidelines explain how to make Web content more accessible for people with disabilities. Conformance with these guidelines will help make the web more user friendly to everyone. Whilst PS189M strives to adhere to the guidelines and standards for accessibility, it is not always possible to do so in all areas of the website and we are currently working to achieve this. Be aware that due to the dynamic nature of the website, minor issues may occasionally occur as it is updated regularly. We are continually seeking out solutions that will bring all areas of the site up to the same level of overall web accessibility.

If you have any comments and or suggestions relating to improving the accessibility of our site, please don't hesitate to contact our school by phone or e-mail. Your feedback will help us make improvements.

© 2020 by PS189M - School of Inquiry and Expression. Proudly created with Wix.com